LOG AS AT 9 MAY 2017

The Michael Azzie trained dual Grade 1 winner, Hat Puntano (ARG), was an interesting supplementary entry this morning for the 2017 Vodacom Durban July bringing to 47 the number of horses still in contention for the big race on 1 July 2017.

The first VDJ Log has been issued by Gold Circle and serves as a clear indication as to who would be in the field if the race was run tomorrow. We have not considered Hat Puntano at this stage as he has yet to win beyond 1600 metres and has not been seen in action since July 2016, said Gold Circle Racing Executive Raf Sheik. Hopefully he will make his South African debut in the near future, he added.

The top six spots on the VDJ Log are occupied by horses who have won automatic qualifying races this season. Marinaresco and Captain America, at 7 and 8, lead the way amongst the balance but there is a long way to go yet and those on the outside looking in still have plenty of opportunities to qualify.

The VDJ LOG as at 14:00 on Tuesday 9 May 2017:-

1 DEO JUVENTE 115 Geoff Woodruff
2 AL SAHEM 106 Sean Tarry
3 HEAVENLY BLUE 106 Mike de Kock
4 MASTER SABINA 110 Geoff Woodruff
5 ORCHID ISLAND 99 Mike de Kock
6 EDICT OF NANTES 102 Brett Crawford
7 MARINARESCO 115 Candice Bass-Robinson
8 CAPTAIN AMERICA 116 Brett Crawford
9 BELA-BELA 109 Justin Snaith
10 FRENCH NAVY 112 Sean Tarry
11 THE CONGLOMERATE 107 Joey Ramsden
12 BRAZUCA 108 Johan Janse van Vuuren
13 KRAMBAMBULI 107 Justin Snaith
14 SARATOGA DANCER 107 Duncan Howells
15 PAGODA 101 Geoff Woodruff
16 ELUSIVE SILVA 99 Justin Snaith
17 NIGHTINGALE 105 Candice Bass-Robinson
18 IT’S MY TURN 106 Justin Snaith
19 ZODIAC RULER 99 Justin Snaith
20 MASTER SWITCH 101 Geoff Woodruff
The next 5 in alphabetical order:
GIRL ON THE RUN 98 Johan Janse van Vuuren
LIEGE 102 Sean Tarry
PRINCE OF WALES 100 Justin Snaith
SAFE HARBOUR 101 Sean Tarry
SILVER MOUNTAIN 102 Candice Bass-Robinson


Important Vodacom Durban July dates to diarise:

  • Second Declaration: Close 11:00 Monday, 29 May 2017
  • Final Supplementary Entries: Close 11:00 Monday, 12 June 2017
  • Weights Published: Tuesday, 13 June 2017
  • Final Declaration: Close 11:00 Monday, 19 June 2017
  • Final Field and Draw: Announcement of the Final Field and Barrier Draws will take place on Tuesday, 20 June 2017
  • Public Gallops: 7am at Greyville Racecourse, Thursday, 22 June 2017